PDA

View Full Version : 45 colt molds for 45 automatic pistols

plaz
07-11-2010, 10:42 AM
I am new at this.

I own a sig 45 automatic 220 pistol for which I set out to buy a bullet mold.

I looked at the Lyman molds and instead of buying one listed in the 45 automatic column I bought one listed in the 45 colt column. I bought a Lyman mold # 454190 which is a 250 grain 454 inch diameter mold. I sized it down to a 452 inches 250 grain bullet.

A little late I am now asking the question. Is this sized bullet OK to use in my 45 caliber Sig 220 automatic pistol even though its mold was not listed in the 45 automatic column?

I can't seem to find a recipe for it?

DLCTEX
07-11-2010, 10:51 AM
It will work fine, although it is a little heavy for the 45 ACP. You will have to find acceptable loads for the heavier boolit. I have used the 454-255 boolit in mine, but it may require a heavier recoil spring to prevent hammering of the frame. I also installed Shok-Buffs in my 1911. The Sig may be different, as I am not familiar with it. Pay attention and do not reduce the powder space in the case by seating the boolit too deep to get it to chamber,as this will cause pressure spikes.

geargnasher
07-11-2010, 12:29 PM
Yes, I fully second everything DLC said. Unfortunately, you may have to seat that boolit a bit deep to allow it to function in the Sig, so work up your loads carefully. Also, you'll find that most .45ACP brass starts to thicken in the case wall area just south of where a normal 230-grain bullet base would be when seated, so when you go deeper with the 454190 it can bulge the case and swage the boolit base a bit. Winchester (W-W headstamp) brass was the most user-friendly with these heavy-for-caliber boolits.

I've run the gamut of 250-ish grainers through the 1911 platform, and the 454190 is my favorite. I wish I had another mould exactly like it but shortened to 230 grain, it feeds better than any other cast boolit I've tried, even better than the 452374.

Gear