PDA

View Full Version : Project update and request for help

theperfessor
07-07-2010, 05:26 PM
I'll try to keep this short, but I need to provide some background information concerning the goal of a long term project I have been working on. Then I'm going to ask for some help from 3 or 4 of you so I can finish and document the current phase of the project. It will only require a few minutes of your time, and the end result will (hopefully) be of benefit to many of the people who frequent this site. If you're interested, read on.

I'm a machinist by training and a mechanical engineer by degree. I teach manufacturing courses at a state university, do some consulting and material testing, and have a small machine shop for doing subcontract work and building prototype machines.

A few years ago my interest was rekindled in bullet casting and reloading. I found this site, and gained an appreciation for the technical aspects of the process of casting bullets. I got a real education after reading many posts concerning the quality problems of various molds, and seeing some really innovative ideas on mold modifications and alterations. I also participated in several group buys until the wait time became unreasonable.

I decided that I could make multi-cavity bullet molds at least as good as any of the commercial vendors, and that making small lots of a custom product of the best quality might be a good way to supplement my income and keep me active when I retire in a few years. I laid out a rough plan for this, dividing it up into stages:

Stage 1: Determine the processes necessary to make a mold, develop the tooling, and cut a sample mold. Test the end result, and keep track of all the problems encountered throughout. I did this, and posted a link to the following article:

http://www.usi.edu/science/engineering/moldfixture/MakingBulletMolds.doc