PDA

View Full Version : Is sizing necessary?

plaz
06-26-2010, 01:32 PM
I am new at casting so please forgive my stupid questions..

I understand that sizing is desireable because it provides a uniform bullet and a lot of people buy and use expensive lube sizer equipment.

I also notice that most of the Lee molds produce a diameter that is the final diameter desired leaving no need to size the bullets.

If the molds don't provide a diameter larger than the desired final diameter there is no need to buy and use sizing equipment. Yet many people own and use sizing equipment. This is very confusing.

Will some folks please explain this?

iammarkjones
06-26-2010, 01:40 PM
I am by no means an expert but I have a Lee .452 mold that casts .4535 and up boolits. There are several factors that affect your as cast size including alloy temprature and a host of other things I don't fully understand. To answer your question you need to get the bullet to the correct size for the barrel you intend to shoot it from. The only way to know that for sure is to slug your barrel. Once you know the true size of your barrel add 00.001. At least that has worked for me. The bottom line is don't take anything for granted if it can be measured by all means measure it, assumptions are dangerous.

44man
06-26-2010, 01:43 PM
In a word---NO, if the boolit is the right size. Few of mine get sized and most go through a lapped out lee die to remove excess lube.
If a boolit casts at .432", I rub the Felix lube in the grooves or pan lube, then run them through a .432" die. I have brass tubes for some boolits that I run them through for the same purpose.
You can't make a boolit better then if fell from the mold by rubbing down one side. I almost never seen a round boolit.

gray wolf
06-26-2010, 02:17 PM
Hello there and welcome !

Please understand that your question is not stupid, foolish would be not asking at all.