PDA

View Full Version : Double Charge - Be Careful!!!

4570guy
06-24-2010, 01:40 PM
I have always prided myself at being a very careful handloader. I started handloading with my Dad when I was 10 and then after a long hiatus after college, I've been loading consistently for 5 years. All-together, I'd say I have about 12 years of handloading experience but with a long dry spell between age 18 and age 39. I'm sharing this story to swallow some of that pride and to hopefully prevent this from happening to somebody else. Fortunately, nothing bad happened - but it could have!

I just now caught a double-charged case of 45 ACP. My standard load is 4.8 gr of Bullseye under a 230 gr LRN. I use mixed headstamp brass in my 45's but the majority of it is Winchester (I'll explain why that's relevant in a moment). I have a Lyman DPS 3 automatic powder measure and I load on a single stage RCBS Jr press.

My standard procedure when using the Lyman is to set it on auto-repeat, throw a load, dump it in the case, visually check the powder in the case, return the pan to the powder measure and seat the bullet while the Lyman is measuring out the next charge. For those that aren't familiar with the Lyman DPS 3, it has a cartridge counter that displays the number of charges that have been thrown during that loading session.

I typically weigh a couple of the automatically thrown charges on my manual powder scale when I first start a reloading session just to double check the accuracy of the Lyman. I have never found the Lyman to be off, but I still check it after I first set it up. This is where I got into trouble this morning.

Anyway - enough of the background info...