PDA

View Full Version : .40 S&W questions

redbird1976
06-14-2010, 11:44 PM
I've been casting bullets for several years and have not had an issue with leading until now. I've been casting .45's and 9mm's. My casting metal has always been a combination of wheel weights and range scrap. The wheel weights are 1980's and early 1990's vintage that my dad picked up during lulls working the night shift. I've been driving a 212 grain .45 acp swc at 850fps and 155grain 9mm at 750 to 875fps, depending on the load. Bullseye had been my powder of choice for years, but I'm looking for a slower burning powder for my .40S&W so I bought a pound of Hogdgon Longshot the other day. I had good results with my jacketed bullets. Six grains of Longshot and a 180grain JFP loaded to 1.120" gave me an average velocity of 965 fps.

So last week I got my equipment to cast .40 caliber. I'm using a lee six cavity mould 175 grain tc with standard lube groove. They are being sized in an RCBS lubrisizer to .401. I'm using a set of lee dies on a Dillon 550 to load the cartridges. Bullets were dropping from the mould between .401 and .403. Sized and lubed they spec out at .401 and weigh 180 grains.

Now onto to the details of the casting. I cast last Monday and Tuesday. My alloy was a mixture of wheel weights, range scrap and some mystery lead that was in 4"x8" sheets that looked as if they had been round at some point then squashed into rectangles. I casted about 1/2WW to the other material. The bullets were air cooled and sized within 24 hours of casting. On Wednesday I loaded up some test loads.
I loaded 20 each: 5.5gr longshot, 5.7 gr longshot, 6.0 gr longshot OAL 1.100"
They all functioned fine. I chronoed each group and shot them for accuracy.
Here are the results:
180grTC L 5.5 gr longshot-- avg vel. 913fps

180grTC L 5.7 gr longshot-- avg vel. 960fps

180grTC L 6.0 gr longshot-- avg vel. 985fps

The averages are the result of two cycles USPSA chrono protocol; three rounds at ten feet.