PDA

View Full Version : Why So Many Designs???

BCB
08-09-2006, 06:20 PM
I was just looking at a listing/pictures of Lyman, Ideal, RCBS, Lee and N.E.I. molds. There must be hundreds and hundreds of designs and it is amazing the number that are still available. Now then, I have only been casting bullets for about ½ dozen years and I have acquired about 20 molds (don’t laugh! I suspect some of you pros have hundreds of molds!) from the above companies with the exception of Ideal. These particular molds/designs work very well in all the calibers/cartridges that I reload and shoot. They include .357, .365, .277, .284, .308, .429, the 32 Long Colt heel bullet, and a 12 gauge slug. That covers all the caliber that I shoot cast bullets in.
So, I wonder, were all the mold designs that are shown and available made for a specific use? Or where many of them designs that just never caught on?..BCB

LET-CA
08-09-2006, 06:37 PM
I am a real newbie when it comes to casting, but as an experienced business man, I feel confident in saying that once the investment is made in the equipment, the mould manufacturers want to keep the equipment well utilized with whatever will sell. There are some pretty specialized moulds out there, and with the changing attitudes towards weight vs. velocity some designs will become more or less popular based on whatever trends are enjoying the most popularity. (Who would have ever though in 1940 that they'd still be selling round ball moulds for muzzel loading rifles in 2006?!)

I happen to enjoy the 44 caliber bullets and have put together a pretty good selection of the heavier weights for from Lyman, Saeco and RCBS.

I'd really like to see Lee offer up some of the custom group buy moulds on a continuing basis. I'd happily pay a few extra dollars for some of the past buys.

As noted above, I have a lot to learn about casting, but really enjoy it. This forum has made it possible to dramatically shorten the learning curve.

imashooter2