PDA

View Full Version : Melting Lubed Bullets

cwbuff
06-05-2010, 09:24 AM
I'm new to casting my own bullets. Is it ok melt down a bunch of lubricated bullets? If not, what do I do remove (most of) it? Thanks

Rocky Raab
06-05-2010, 09:28 AM
I used to scarf up any "shelf queen" commercial cast bullets I could find, almost always at near give-away prices. I'd just chuck them into the smelting pot as is along with range scrap, wheelweights and whatever. The lube served as built-in flux, especially if I spooned a few in after the rest of the stuff had liquified.

06-05-2010, 09:31 AM
cwbuff,
Welcome.
Toss them in the pot and melt them. There will be a good amount of smoke, so do it in a well ventilated area. Spooning out the lube, as it puddles on top of the lead, helps reduce the amount of smoke.

cwbuff
06-05-2010, 09:32 AM
OK - I'll give it a rip. Thanks!

FISH4BUGS
06-05-2010, 09:37 AM
cwbuff,
Welcome.
Toss them in the pot and melt them. There will be a good amount of smoke, so do it in a well ventilated area. Spooning out the lube, as it puddles on top of the lead, helps reduce the amount of smoke.

I might recommend that you light the stuff that floats on top. If it burns (look out it might give you a good POOF when it lights) that will drastically reduce the smoke.
If it doesn't light off, just stir it in and use it for your flux.

gray wolf
06-05-2010, 11:03 AM
I do it all the time. Just watch the smoke and fire.

cwbuff
06-05-2010, 11:58 AM
OK - I did it and cast a bunch on ingots. It was wise for me to do it outside on the concrete porch. It caught on fire. So now my question is what do you use to skim the crud off the top? What do you use to stir the brew? Thanks!

357maximum
06-05-2010, 12:46 PM