PDA

View Full Version : 45acp low smoke powder?

JesseCJC
05-21-2010, 02:02 AM
Any tips for some low smoke powder for 45acp? Win 231 and WSF are great for j-words but are too smokey for my tastes, and I am sure the guy on the line next to me as well.

Is this mainly a powder or lube issue, or perhaps a bit of both?

HeavyMetal
05-21-2010, 02:10 AM
It's a lube issue!

I've used 452-AA, the forerunner of WST, and 473-AA the forerunner of WSF and, as long as I did not use an alox based lube, smoke was a non issue.

I've used Lithi bee, several of the Angel lubes speed green and Carnuba Red all of these make very minimal smoke with 452AA can't say for sure about 231 I've never used it.

Will suggest trying several different lubes and make sure the boolit fits the bore and you should hit a combo that works for you.

JDFuchs
05-21-2010, 02:41 AM
Im still new to casting, but i bet its the lube. I have a lyman 450 with an odd random mixtrue of lubes that works well but has about 1/4 alox in it. I have to wait a bit after my last round before i can sight in the target again when I go to the indoor range. Outdoors its never been an isue. But once had someone ask if i was useing black powder. Once thats gone im hopeing a batch of Modified Barry Darr lube Ive already made will do far better.

excess650
05-21-2010, 06:49 AM
I preferred faster burnng powder than WSF in the 45ACP. WST was a newer powder than 231, and cleaner. I shot mostly 700x when shooting PPC and IPSC. Later, I noticed the "low recoil" powders seemed cleaner, and definitely made less recoil. I'm speaking of Solo 1000 and Hogdon Clays specifically.

As others have already commented, you smoke is more of a function of your lube.

Shiloh
05-21-2010, 09:32 AM
The Alliant Bullseye Alox lube combo is dirty and smokey as heck. The accuracy speaks for itself though.

Shiloh

RobS
05-21-2010, 10:16 AM