PDA

View Full Version : How to lube a boolit

Charlie Two Tracks
05-18-2010, 07:19 PM
I've got some wheel weights, and all the stuff I need to melt them down. I will be getting a mould pretty soon. The only thing (I think) that I am not understanding is how you get the lube on the boolit. I know you can use stuff like Alox to coat the whole thing or pan lube but that looks like it is time consuming. So there is a special die or something and it has some type on lube in it? I was going to put this in the lube section but I thought it was just for recipes.

Lavid2002
05-18-2010, 07:22 PM
Alox isnt time consuming in the least. I am very new to casting, I have tried pan lubing and it didnt work out very well. Even if it did...THAT is time consuming. For aloz, I toss the boolits in a bucket, alox em, toss them around, and pour onto a pan overnight. Thats it....

I personally size my boolits so it goes like this
Alox-Size-Alox

There is a lyman lubrisizer that lubes and sizes the boolits in one stroke of the machine.

Do some youtube video searching on the name....Alox too...

-Dave

RobS
05-18-2010, 07:25 PM
If you are not planning on using a tumble lube such as the Alox or pan lubing then the next option is to get yourself a lubricator also called lube/sizer such as a Lyman, Saeco, RCBS or Magma Star. There is a forth option and it is simply smearing the lube on with your fingers..........although this is really not an option as it is too cumbersome and messy, but can be used from time to time if a person doesn't want to fill an entire lubricator full of a lube that they are not for sure they want to use.

RobS
05-18-2010, 07:29 PM
There is a lyman lubrisizer that lubes and sizes the boolits in one stroke of the machine.

-Dave