PDA

View Full Version : Just me being me

Harter66
05-16-2010, 07:22 PM
I'm an aircraft mechanic (A&P) by 1st trade ,I just jump into projects that seem major to some and seem to border on mundane to me. An engineer once said to me "A bumble bee is not only physically ,but mechanically unable to fly , aparently nobody told the bumble bee " .

Shortly after I cast and shot my 1st sucessful little bitty group from my grandfathers S&W 38 special I leaped into rifle boolits . Soon I hope the scars will fade some . That was not my hour to be sure ,I had tumbling ,leading so bad that the 2 rifles looked like smooth bores ,hours spent unleading, wornout brushes , bent cleaning rods , oh and I was slightly frustraighted with the casting process as well. Thank God I finally found this place and all of the skilled,not always patient,knowledgable folks here.

The next flash of brillance suggested that if a solid copper/gilding metal bullet with shank grooves looked like a sleak fast pointy boolit that there should be a mould to make 1 . No such luck ,but I could spend the big bucks , draw some things up and maybe I'd luck out. Not really what I had in mind.

Enter the bumble bee ! Aka the sleak pointy cast boolit with a plain base no less . My boolit is 1.21"long
.314 base
.312 middle land
.310 forward land
.295x.07 grooves (dia.x width)
.302 bore ride
.09 nose flat
16" radis ogive
.4 shank length (base to forward land edge)
.4 nose ride length
.4ish ogive
200 grns from WW
When I plugged it into am online BC calculater it gave me .476.

On Friday morning I shot my "308-200" in my 30-06' with its 1-8.5 twist in to 4 pretty little 5 shot groups of 2" and under. They were loaded into Winchester WW brass with CCI lg rifle primers and Red Dot at 10,10.5,11.0 grns. They flew through the chrony at 1250,1300,1350 round numbers. The 10.5 1300fps load showed a high low deviation of just 14 fps.