PDA

View Full Version : Age hardening

duxnbux
05-13-2010, 09:13 PM
I'm new to the forum, been lurking for a few weeks and am impressed with the knowledge I've seen here.
I am smelting 50/50 lino and lead. #2? It tests about 15 bhn after a few days. When I cast it and test it, it's back up to about 20bhn like the lino was in the first place. The lead is mostly used plumbing pipe.
Apparently it is age hardening. The original smelt was about 30 to 45 days before the cast. I checked the boolits after 2 or 3 weeks and they are still at 20bhn. Will they "soften" over time?
I'm using the Lee 20# bottom pour with the Lee 6 banger molds. I'm casting 9mm,40, and 45 cals.

Thanks for you help.

Fly
05-13-2010, 09:18 PM
duxnbux I'm new to this also & in saying that I,m not much help on this topic.But I can
tell you I have age harden & I don't see me soften any time soon.

sagacious
05-13-2010, 10:00 PM
Your alloy ingots cool slowly, and can be expected to test softer than your cast bullets, which cool much more rapidly. Faster cooling increases hardness with the alloy you're using. Your bullets should not soften much over time-- I wouldn't waste any worry on it. Your listed calibers are not going to be affected by a miniscule drop in BHN anyway.

Other than that, your test results could be in error, but I think the above situation is likely. Good luck.

John Boy
05-13-2010, 10:08 PM
Will they "soften" over time?
Dux - Nope! The antimony will stabilize in the alloy anywhere from 3 - 14 days, based on the percentage

My approach is mix and cast the ingots - take a Bhn reading every few days and when I get a constant Bhn for about a week ... that's what I mark on all the ingots and stack them by Bhn.

I'm a BPCR shooter and correct alloy is important. I learned the hard way - quick reading and wrong alloy for my BPCR bullets. So now, I let them 'age' and get the correct Bhn

Fly
05-13-2010, 10:17 PM