PDA

View Full Version : Leading in .45 ACP

NHlever
04-16-2010, 12:09 PM
Though I have cast boolits for many years, I have very little experience with semi auto pistols. Recently I bought a High Standard Crusader with the 3 1/2" barrel. I really like the gun so far, and it seems really accurate for a small gun. I didn't have a suitable mold (and I have lots of molds!) so I purchased some 200 gr SWC BB "hard cast" boolits. I'm loading them at 1.225 OAL over 5 grains of Bullseye. The load is accurate, and pleasant, but it leads the first inch, or so of the barrel pretty badly. Any ideas on what I can do with this boolit? I'm embarrased to say I haven't slugged the bore,(but I will after lunch) or actually miked the boolits, but they are supposed to be sized at .452 which I thought might be large enough........ of course it would be a bear to make them larger now! :D

RICKLANDES
04-16-2010, 12:29 PM
I cannot but help to think it may be the new barrel. I would consider giving it a very good cleaning and a polish with some JB bore cleaner.
You may have a bit of machine marks that need a little TLC.
With your noted "experienced" casting back ground it only seems to make sense since it does not seem to impact others arms you work (play) with...

gray wolf
04-16-2010, 12:29 PM
Check to see if the barrel has a little lead right after the chamber ends, or if the rifle-ing begins directly after the chamber. If there is no space ( rifle-ing begins right after chamber )
Seat bullets a tad deeper. This MAY be a problem I don't think so but check it anyway.
#2 Slug that bore and measure those bullets, They should be at least .001 over bore diameter. Leading as you describe is most time an undersized bullet. Bad lube would be leading near the muzzle.
OK now you know what I know, I hope it helps. I am sure there will be others in our fine casting family that will help also.

NHlever
04-16-2010, 12:49 PM