PDA

View Full Version : Up Grade!

dk17hmr
07-05-2006, 11:37 PM
It is a well known fact around these parts that I am a college student, with almost nothing investented into my castin equipment. I am starting to progress, comin back across the state on the 4th with my mom and dad we came into a town (Howard City maybe) that was having a flea market. Of course we stopped, walkin around the many vendors I come across a Coleman 2 burner gas camp stove with a $20 tag on it. I got to lookin it over and it was all there and in pretty good condition, the guy running the tables said Ill make you a deal on that one $15 and its yours, I said to him "that not much of a deal your only takin $5 off, I have a $10 bill right here that says you dont have to load it back up when you dont sell it" he thought about it for about 1 minute and said "you mean you had a $10 bill", then my dad bought a Coleman 3 burner from the same guy for $30.

I cleaned it all up, had old gas in the tank, and put fresh gas in it and fired it, works great. It is alot better then my single burner I used for the first 3000 bullets I have made.

Ill post a pic later of my find, so far I am very happy with it, that bigger tank last alot longer then the old single.

DK

Vegas Vince
07-06-2006, 12:32 AM
dk17hm, A lot of years ago, 1968 maybe 69 I bought a used colman two burner stove and a cast iron pot. I think i gave the guy $2.00 for the colman & 25 cents of the pot. I used both for over 15 years. I still have both but use a Lee pro pot and a small electric burner to melt the WW. The colman will serve you well. The only problem today is the fuel. Don't know haw much a gallon is today but back then you could get white gas for .20 to .25 cents a gallon. Enjoy your casting time.:drinks:

Vince

454PB
07-06-2006, 12:44 AM
Sounds like you're getting your haggling skills honed, good for you!