PDA

View Full Version : transporting a handgun into Cal?

lylejb
03-14-2010, 02:02 PM
Does anyone know what the rules / laws are regarding transporting a handgun into California?

Any Cal LEO's here?

I'm an Oregon resident that will be having to take an unexpected trip to Cal and would be more comfortable with some self defense tools handy.

I'm not worried about CCW, I'm thinking more about "what if the car breaks down in the middle of nowhere"

This trip would be a couple of days, by car.

Thanks

WILCO
03-14-2010, 02:14 PM
Check out this website:http://www.allstays.com/Features/california-gun-laws-travel-guide/

California Gun Laws and Travel Guide

California is not gun friendly. The just traveling through concept doesn’t work too well in California, because if you are going to another state, you don’t have to go into California at all. AZ, NV and OR all are easily and directly accessible without going through California. If you are traveling from state to state and carrying, you need to know the situation in each state you are entering or you could get into trouble. For certain states or if you have any doubt at all, keeping moving through the state (reference the McClure-Volkmer Act to only stop for gas and emergencies) towards your final destination state. Your destination state must have acceptable laws for your stay. We make some generalities with our color map here for ease of use so you should always look up the current details of the laws. Handgun laws are where it usually varies the most. This is a controversial issue but which ever side you are on, it is better to have informed people out there. You can also download an easy to print version with all states and details.

mike in co
03-14-2010, 02:27 PM
just remember 10 rd max

sagacious
03-14-2010, 03:05 PM
Fortunately, 10rnd mag only applies to buying a pistol, not transportation. Transportation is OK. The quote below covers what you need to know, based on the question as posed.