PDA

View Full Version : Help My Boolits Are Missing

deerslayer
03-09-2010, 10:30 AM
Ok guys I am still a newbie so here is my question. Where i shoot i am on flat ground shooting anywhere from 7 to 50 yards into a hillside that is probably at a thirty degree angle. We have shot probably 5 or 10 thousand rounds in this spot. The other day I was bored and assumed there must be a bucket of lead in that hill. Well I dug and dug and only found a handful of bullets. I dug 10-12" deep am I wrong are handgun bullets penetrating deeper than that or are they bouncing off. The ones i did find were fully intact which made me assume the dirt was slowing them down enough and they were not disentegrating on impact. So if anyone has experience with missing boolits clue me in, before I do unofficial experimenting. Thanks Nathan:lovebooli

Hickory
03-09-2010, 12:02 PM
There is a good chance that the "lead suckers" have been in your area.
Lead suckers are creatures the have an addiction to lead, and rely on
it for their own pleasure and well being.
These poor creatures suck up the lead left by shooters, they have no other source
to supply their addiction. They do not know about tire stores, junk yards or recycling places.
Have mercy on them if you catch them at your back stop sucking out the lead, and don't shoot them. It might be someone you know.[smilie=s:

You might be one of them!

Wayne Smith
03-09-2010, 12:13 PM
What's the composition of your hillside? Loam, sand, rocks, aggregate, etc? This will tell me a lot about the likelihood of ricochet or depth of penetration. Also how hard is it packed?

Hickory
03-09-2010, 12:23 PM
Come on Wayne, don't inject too much logic here.
Mentally, I think I had him on the ropes there for a while.:mrgreen:

:castmine: :kidding:

awaveritt
03-09-2010, 12:27 PM