PDA

View Full Version : The Mighty .32ACP and Others

BLTsandwedge
03-08-2010, 07:26 PM
Saturday I set up the chronograph and collected around 25 data sets- from .45AR to .22LR. I'm just now beginning to measure external ballistics, so my methodology isn't tight yet. Each data set includes at least 10 rounds measured in feet per second, and measurements are recorded on a Shooting Chrony Beta @ 10'. I ten-key each data point into an Excel workbook and use the existing formulas for STDEV and AVERAGE, the latter being a string's mean average. Even though I'm new to thys, it's a kick- using statistical analysis adds another big dimension to the hobby.

One general observation I came away with is that the smaller the cartridge case (.22rf aside) the greater the standard deviation from round to round. As an example, a 10mm loaded with 7.9g Power Pistol under a #401638 produced a mean average velocity of 1,222.22 FPS with a standard deviation of 5.1 FPS. To the other extreme, a .32ACP loaded with a Tru-Cast 71g LRN over 2g of 700X produced a velocity of 795FPS with a standard deviation of 41.1FPS. That's a 5% +/- deviation factor for the .32 compared to a .04% +/- for the 10mm. As the case volume fell, the shot-to-shot deviation increased. This was suggested even with .32 factory ammo- the same 35 to 40FPS standard deviation was present in Remington and PMC.

Having said that, I have my doubts that we can say "the smaller the case, the greater the shot-to-shot deviation will be." Or, in general terms, can that be said? I measured five different brands of .22LR; standard deviations ran from 13 to 28- roughly the same as mid-capacity rounds such as .40 and .45ACP/AR.

I've nowhere near enough data collected to make any assertions other than individual loads used in individual guns. But, for the technically inclined folks on the board, what has been your experience with small calibers and STDEV?