PDA

View Full Version : Which progressive?

chaos
02-27-2010, 11:51 AM
I've been handloading for about 17 years . 99% of what i've loaded has been on a RCBS partner and Rock Chuckar presses.

I did have a real ********* lee progressive at one point but the relationship was short lived.

I am looking at getting a progressive at this point as I cant keep up witht he volume that me and the boys need since I started casting.

Primary calibers will be 45acp and 44 mag. Might need .223 in the future as well, but will probably do those on the single stage.

What do you fellers/ ladies recommend? Loading 500-800 rounds a week has gotten to be a pain on the rock chucker.

sturf
02-27-2010, 11:54 AM
Dillon

lead4me
02-27-2010, 11:54 AM
Lock & Load AP

chaos
02-27-2010, 11:57 AM
Lock & Load AP

Does the Dillon or Hornady machines require the use of propreitary dies or can I use my standard RCBS dies that I've been using for years?

lead4me
02-27-2010, 12:15 PM
I have RCBS /Lyman & Hornady dies running in mine.

Rockchucker
02-27-2010, 12:38 PM
Just one word...Dillon.

Marlin Hunter
02-27-2010, 12:40 PM
I have the older Hornady L-N-L AP. It has the wire case eject, which doesn't work. I think the newer ejector works better. Before the Hornady, I had a Dillon 550. The Dillon holds 4 dies, and the Hornady holds 5 dies. The Dillon seats and crimps the bullet in a single operation. The Hornady can be set up to crimp in a separate operation. Most reloading presses use the 7/8-14 threaded dies. I can't think of a company that sells dies in a different configuration.

kirb
02-27-2010, 12:42 PM
I use dillon, lee, rcbs and others in my 550's

Kirb

Shiloh
02-27-2010, 12:46 PM
Dillon

I have RCBS /Lyman & Hornady dies running in mine.

Just one word...Dillon.

I use dillon, lee, rcbs and others in my 550's
Kirb

Dillon.

Read these posts again.

Shiloh

crabo
02-27-2010, 01:08 PM
Here's my take.....