PDA

View Full Version : Can lead break my barrel?

shootinxd
02-20-2010, 05:06 PM
Been casting for couple months,broke my stock barrel,and an aftermarket barrel.My stocker had several thousand rounds so I am not sure if wear and tear had any effect,but a new stainless?
175grn tc lee boolit,5.5 grains of #5 accurate.seat to fit the camber of 1.089" almost not crimp at all.no sign of leading,dont seem to be heavy hitting.crono at 900fps.Just had it fail at the end of 3gun.:evil::evil::evil::evil:
Has anybody else seen this,I have been reloading for better than 2 yrs without having any issues with gun or reloads.155 grn berrys plated,7.2 grns #5 no issues!!!!!

HammerMTB
02-20-2010, 05:09 PM
What do you mean, "broke" your barrel? The term is too generic. Pics would be helpful.
In and of itself, lead cannot "break" a barrel. But since there are a lot of factors involved here, the devil is in the details.

shootinxd
02-20-2010, 06:17 PM
Here are some pics.Thanks

shootinxd
02-20-2010, 06:18 PM
The details are pretty ugly ,uh.

thx997303
02-20-2010, 06:23 PM
I would say that your loads are too hot for your recoil spring, and that lug is slamming against the locking block. Heavier recoil spring ought to help.

shootinxd
02-20-2010, 06:37 PM
This is the starting load for #5,can I go lower?(would save on powder)

jdgabbard
02-20-2010, 06:50 PM
I would say something is definitely amiss... I would get a heavier spring, and look at a different load all together....

HammerMTB
02-20-2010, 08:32 PM
If both your barrels broke like this, that is really bad.
Even if just the one did, it appears you have a load that is significantly stronger than your recoil spring.
I shoot the same boolit, but use a load of AA#5 to make major PF in a 40S&W.

My pet load is about 975 FPS, give or take a bit.
They also get seated to 1.135, which will give lower pressures.
Is your barrel badly leaded when you finish a shoot?
Any signs of pressure from the brass?