PDA

View Full Version : Casting in cold weather

louscip
02-12-2010, 02:33 PM
Has anyone had experience casting bullets in cold weather? I'd like to cast in my garage with the doors open and it will probably be around 20 degrees. Any issues I might run into?

brad925
02-12-2010, 03:55 PM
I am just getting into this and wondering the same things. My biggest fear is dropping a sweaty ingot into the melt and getting a visit from the tinsel fairy. I just want to smelt my ww's in the winter but i think i will be putting them in the bbq and bringing them up to temp. first.

As for casting bullets i would think you would have to cast fast to keep your moulds up to temp.

Pystis
02-12-2010, 05:41 PM
I've cast at about 20F several times and haven't had any serious problem. When casting at extreme low temps, like below zero, problem is that outer parts of the mould are too cold and inside is too hot. You get boolits that are frosty on the midsection and wrinkled on the nose and the base. I've only cast with aluminium moulds so I'm not sure if the iron or brass moulds act alike.
It is always a good idea to warm up the ingots before tossing them on the melt. Wear warm clothes, you don't want to drop a drop of snot in your molten lead! No kidding really -I've had some close calls.
Haven't had any major visits by Tinsel Fairy yet, though.

atr
02-12-2010, 05:58 PM
Ive cast in this type of weather and with the garage door(s) open also...
I sometimes find that the tops of the mold get cooler quicker and that it is harder to keep an even temperature in the melt and in the mold.
I have an electric 10 lb melting pot and when I cast in cold weather I surrrount the pot with brick to help keep in the heat....I find this help keep the pot and mold temperature more constant.
When I add material to the pot I make doubly sure that the lead Ive gragged in from the outside is completely free of moisture.

hope this helps

awaveritt
02-12-2010, 06:12 PM