PDA

View Full Version : ?? Wolf Primer mass FTF ??

Recluse
02-11-2010, 12:55 PM
Now, I know what kind of (potential) abuse I'm opening myself up for by posting this seeing what happened the last time a reloader had FTF problems with CCI primers. So I'll preface this by saying I've been pulling handles on reloading presses for right at forty years, with thirty of those years by myself (first ten were with my dad). I've loaded and shot several hundred thousand rounds in my life up to this point.

I know how to seat a primer. I know how not to contaminate a primer.

With that said, I popped open a 100ct box of Wolf primers, small pistol, and loaded up some .38 Special 105SWC 2.8gr Bullseye loads for my daughter. Loaded up 100 rounds.

Gun is a S&W Model 19, 2/ 12" barrel, Hogue grips, no trigger job or action work. Stock gun. This is a gun I used as a backup gun during my LE days. It is fired regularly.

Out of the 100 rounds I loaded, almost half failed to fire on first double-action trigger pull. I checked to see if she was maybe short-cycling the trigger, but they failed to fire with me as well.

Out of that forty-plus, I got about half of those to fire after repeated single action attempts.

Now, odd thing is that this particular 100ct box came from a standard 1000ct brick. I've already loaded--and shot--about half of that brick up to this point. Zero problems. Some of the rounds loaded were fired in the same Model 19 my kid was firing. Some were fired in any number of the 9mm guns, the .380 and my 686.

It was only this box that gave me trouble.

I ran some identical reloads (.38Spcl, 105SWC, 2.8gr Bullseye) but that were primed with Winchester small pistol primers, and had zero FTF. Ran some 148WC rounds through loaded with CCI primers, zero FTF. Went back to the Wolf-primed loads and kept getting FTF.

? ? ?