PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on best lubersizer

dpunch
02-03-2010, 02:32 AM
I am just getting started making my own boolits.
I have first been getting enough lead. Now I have 300 pounds of WW and 800 Pounds of linotype, and some soft lead. I have a few moulds to start. Now I am looking into a lubersizer. I would like the opinions of the experienced people here.
I want something that will do the job and will last. This forum is the best I have found for no BS info.

Bret4207
02-03-2010, 07:09 AM
People say if you want speed get a Star. If you want inexpensive get a Lee. Personally I prefer my RCBS over my Lymans, I also use several Lees. All work fine, all will last with care. All can mangle a boolit or break, although breaking a Lee would be a chore.

If you want a standard sizer I'd go with a used RCBS.

Edubya
02-03-2010, 08:47 AM
I have a SAECO that is very nice and does the job. I've got two Stars, one is over 20 years old and the other one is less than a year old. I use all three of them but the Stars are use for quantity production. The Star will do at least 2-1 over the SAECO but they also cost twice as much.
EW

Echo
02-03-2010, 01:45 PM
If you are casting for PB pistol boolits, go with the Star. If casting for both pistol & rifle boolits, PB & GC, then go with an RCBS/LAM. If money is flush, go for both.

And WW's & lino, 50/50, makes a great alloy. Lead & lino, 50/50, is dang good too.

Slow Elk 45/70
02-03-2010, 03:25 PM
+1 for most casters the RCBS or Lyman are sufficent...if money is a big concern the Lee push through dies work fine, for some boolits they are all I use.

bobthenailer
02-03-2010, 07:51 PM