PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob From Central Texas Has Questions

TORCHrider
02-01-2010, 06:28 PM
Hey Y'all! Dave from Central Texas here. Been reloading for 30 years and have finally decided to take it to the next level and cast those purty little lead pills for my reloading needs. Things is, the more I read, the more questions I have and the more $$ I seem to need to spend. I hope y'all don't mind me asking vthe following questions.

1. I am still very confused by fluxing. I plan to melt wheelweights on a propane burner and cast iron pot in the yard to make ingots for the furnace. I think I understand the entire process except for the fluxing/cleaning of the lead. Some books say not to flux, some say to flux your heart out. I was going to remove the wheelweight clips, zink weights, cigarrete butts, etc. from the surface and then throw in some crayons, stir/scrape well and then skim off any dirt/dross without removing alloy. Is this correct?

2. How do I take my ladle and get lead from the pot to the ingots without getting a whole bunch of the flux along with it?

3. When I put clean ingots in the furnace, do I need to flux again? Why?

4. Do bullets need to be sized/lubed? Some books say beginners dont need to worry about a lubricator/sizer, but every cast bullet I have used has been sized and had lube applied.

5. What are the minimums to turning out a decent supply of cast bullets? When I start to look at the prices of furnaces, moulds, lubicators and sizers and misc. equipment, I could easily spend $1000 getting setup. This kinda goes against the whole premise of casting to save $$.

Thanks Y'all and thanks for putting up with yet another noob! [smilie=s:

dubber123
02-01-2010, 06:43 PM