PDA

View Full Version : I want a 32-36 "target" rifle

218bee
01-26-2010, 06:35 PM
Hey gents first time in this section. I feel the need to get myself a small caliber front stuffing rifle. I have no experience with muzzleloading rifles but have shot some cap n ball revolvers and have been loading black powder cartridges for a while now. I just want this for punching paper to test the rifle and my own skill. I guess the majority would be 50-100yds but would like to move to 200yds if I could. Looking for suggestions.... 32 would be my first choice I guess, if not why a 36? Anyone know about the quality of "Traditions" I've seen them on the net not in person seems a cheap way to go. Can ya recommend other makers even "custom" smiths for a functional shooter not a safe queen. I just want to try the little balls and see what they/I can do. How do you pick a mold? slightly under groove size I assume. Any other boolits or would round ball be good....don't know if they make conicals or such.
So what say ye....any suggestions appreciated

JeffinNZ
01-26-2010, 07:43 PM
Hi
You will find that a .32 or .36 will not have the 'legs' for 100 yard target quality shooting. Minimum I would suggest is .40cal. I run a pair of .40's (one each cap/flint) and over 100yards they go well but still at the bottom end.
200 is a looooooooooong way for a ball by the way.

mooman76
01-26-2010, 09:00 PM