PDA

View Full Version : Hunting with cast?

dk17hmr
06-03-2006, 01:56 AM
Im new to casting so I will ask dumb question about it every now and then. I dont cast a bullet for hunting purposes yer jsut for plinkin with 38 special and 45 acp, but what makes a good cast hunting bullet?

Do you want to drop them in water or let them air cool?
Only use pure lead or do WW work?
What shape/style works best?

I also shoot jacket hollow points out of my .45 at close to 1100fps which I plan on carring on a bear hunt coming up this fall for back up because I am going to use my bow as a primary. But if I use my 45 on whitetail deer, which is perfectly legal in MI also I beleive it is ethical if I go after them with a bow hunting state of mind get them in close and make sure they are broad side, would cast or jacketed be better for a 20 yard or closer shot.

DK

Bass Ackward
06-03-2006, 06:28 AM
Would cast or jacketed be better for a 20 yard or closer shot.
DK

Dk,

For 20 yards back to 10 we throw rocks. At ten, you must use a knife.

Lets see .... for a large deer you have about 3/4" of hair, hide, and bone on the way in, maybe 14" of air until you start making your way out with another 3/4" of bone, hide, and hair on the way out. Think a 45 would penetrate 1 1/2"? Try a gallon milk jug filled with water and see if the bullet stops behind it. That's about 8". Hint: Make sure that there is nothin behind it that .... you like.

I feel pretty comfortable that it can do the job with anything as long as the meplat is wide enough. (Just in case I am wrong, carry a rock in your pocket for back up. Folders can be a PIA to open when you are runnin. :grin: )

44man
06-03-2006, 06:53 AM