PDA

View Full Version : Help on leading

Walknman
01-19-2010, 12:45 AM
I'm new to cast bullet loading and this site, but have been reloading for many years. I recently bought some HSM 240 gr. SWC Boolits for my .44 mag. I loaded them to around 1150 fps. Two things I noticed that were unusual to me, were smoke coming out the barrel upon firing and the lead residue afterwords. My one watt mind figures the smoke may have been from the boolit lube. Does anyone have a suggestion on limiting the leading problem in the bore? Thanks

waksupi
01-19-2010, 12:49 AM
Welcome aboard. I'm in the Flathead. where are you located?

It sounds like the bullets are undersized for your mag. Drop a bare bullet in each cylinder, and push them through with a pencil. There should be some resistance. If this checks out ok, you will need to slug your bore, to see what difference there is in the diameter between cylinder and bore. You want the bore smaller than the cylinder throats. Commercial bullets are a real **** shoot, and that is why we cast our own!

Walknman
01-19-2010, 12:56 AM
Thaks for the info. I'mabout sixmiles out of Helena, but hang out over by Helmville quite a bit. Hope I'm doing this right. I'm just learning the ropes. Thanks again.

sagacious
01-19-2010, 01:04 AM
Walknman,
Follow Waksupi's advice and reply back with some numbers and feedback, and perhaps give us some more info on your load recipe. With that info, the folks here can probably give you an accurate diagnosis on how to remedy your leading problem. Barring that, the best we can offer are guesses.

Best of luck! :drinks:

243winxb
01-19-2010, 11:14 AM
44 (.430) 200 gr. RFP Cast (Cowboy Action) $108.13
44 (.430) 240 gr. SWC Hard-Cast (Cowboy Action) $138.05
44 (.430) 240 gr. SWC Cast (Cowboy Action) $125.06