PDA

View Full Version : Which Model 94

BSkerj
01-14-2010, 10:50 PM
Today I found a Marlin 1894c in .357..nice checkered stock, smooth action etc.
This store wanted 579.00 for it. I went to another gun shop and found a 1894 in the cowboy with the octogon barrel in .357 (I reload alot of 38 and 357) and plan on using the rifle as a plinking gun/maybe deer hunting. This store wanted 719.00 . Both are new in box. Since I am new to lever guns, what are the major differences in the 2. Would I be better off spending the extra 140.00 and get the cowboy or be just as satisfied with the 94c. I really liked the 94c until I handled the cowboy. These are the only 2 rifles in the 94 that I could find in my area. Hope this isn't beating a dead horse on this thread.Any and all opinions will be appreciated. Thanks

Pat I.
01-14-2010, 11:19 PM
I think you answered your own question in your post. You said you liked the 94C until you handled the cowboy. The extra money will be forgotten in a week or two but if you buy a gun you settled on and didn't like as much as the other you'll be kicking yourself as long as you own it.

01-14-2010, 11:30 PM
Might also watch the parallel thread on the Marlin vs brand X small levers.
I'll be the odd man out and suggest also looking at the Brown-chester 92 repros in the handgun calibers. For the $ you're looking at with the new Marlins there may be some options also available in the used but repro "Win 92" models by both Browning and Winchester. The Brown-chester 92s are stronger and generally more gun for the $ than the Marlins. Just another option to consider.

EDK
01-14-2010, 11:58 PM
I had an original 1892 Winchester re-bored to 357, with a 24 inch octagon barrel.
Next gun was an 1866 replica carbine in 38 special.
Then an early 1894c, when they came out. (Gave it to youngest daughter, who passed it on to one of our grand sons...after I got the Cowboy.)
Bought a 24 inch Marlin Cowboy when they came out, but was primarily interested in the 44s.