PDA

View Full Version : Ladle casting

cigg52
01-14-2010, 03:42 PM
I am fairly new to casting. (2yrs. maybe 8-10 casting sessions) Anyway I use a Lee 20lb pot and a RCBS ladle.

The only bullet that I have cast with so far is 400gr. single cavity Lyman mold. I just bought a 45-70 Marlin and going to order a RCBS 325gr. two cavity mold for it.

My question is do you think the RCBS ladle will hold enough lead, 650gr. to cast in one dip with that mold?

One more question, when ladle casting a two cavity mold do you fill one cavity first then the other, or alternate between the two until they are both filled?
Thanks cigg52

Frozone
01-14-2010, 03:48 PM
It'll hold plenty.
1 cavity then the other.

For the really big stuff in .45 - .50 and heavy, I like to enlarge the hole in the ladle a little to pour a little faster.
I keep 2 ladles around, 1 for the small stuff , 1 for the big.

Recluse
01-14-2010, 04:00 PM
It'll do fine--and the suggestion about enlarging the hole is a good one.

I normally bottom pour most of my pistol boolits, but ladle pour all of my rifle boolits. Just seems to work better with a ladle.

On days when I'm feeling particularly nostalgic, I'll ladle pour my handgun boolits.

:coffee:

cigg52
01-14-2010, 04:12 PM
Thanks for the quick repiles guys, I would like to get a the RCBS bottom pour, but the $300. + is the only problem.

awaveritt
01-14-2010, 04:20 PM
I would like to get a the RCBS bottom pour, but the $300. + is the only problem.
Have you looked at the Lee bottom pour pots. I love my 20lb. pot and it was less than $60.00 from Midway.

BABore
01-14-2010, 04:25 PM