PDA

View Full Version : casting boolits from solder drippings

jess
01-07-2010, 04:39 PM
hello. i'm new to casting and i was given about 800# of solder drippings i would like to cast 357 and 9mm . i melted a sample and used tom myers tin formula and came up with 34% tin and used a.j. peacock's chart and got 45% tin. would this amount of tin be ok for boolits or harm my weapon ? i would also like to trade or sell some of the solder, would this be worth while. thank you jess

AZ-Stew
01-07-2010, 04:44 PM
You're sitting on a gold mine.

Regards,

Stew

MtGun44
01-07-2010, 04:55 PM
Not harmful but you should trade it at like at least 3 to 1 for wheel wts. Tin is necessary
at about 2% level for good fill out. Since tin is far more valuable than lead, it is silly
to cast up solder bullets, altho I guess they would work OK. Tin and lead alone may not
get hard enough for some applications, wheel wts has antimony for added hardness.

But for many applications the solder should work, I'm not aware of much info on using
it directly since it is worth so much as an additive. Kind of like making electrical contacts
out of solid gold. It would kinda work, but they would be soft and very expensive. Just
plating them with gold does what you need and cost a bunch less.

I'll trade you 3 lbs of wwt alloy for each pound of your solder alloy. You may find others
offering more than that, too.

You should mix it with around 23 to 25 parts wwts to 1 part solder, should give you around
the proper 2%+ Tin mix you want for good fill out.

Bill

beagle
01-07-2010, 06:17 PM
Great find but it's too valuable to cast with as is. Find some x-ray sheeting, cable sheathing or stick-on WWs to alloy it with.

Sure wish I had that problem./beagle

Tazman1602
01-07-2010, 08:55 PM
If you're within 500 miles of me I'll cast you five thousand bullets of your choice in trade...............

Not really, I'm not a crook.

What AZ-Stew said man, you only need about 2% tin in your mix for good bullets