PDA

View Full Version : Lee Sizers...

dk17hmr
05-25-2006, 10:13 PM
Well as probably everyone knows I am new to casting. I have be getting things as needed and after casting 1000 or so with my .452 TL Lee mold and getting them lube I am having troubles with reliable feeding in my 1911. Only thing I could think of its the bullets are casted to big. So I went in search of a cheap sizing/lubing system. Midway has the Lee Sizing dies and lube combo on sale for like $10.

So I got that coming also bought a Lee single Stage press from midway on the way. I didnt really need it but it was only $20 and it took the $3 handle fee away and I can just leave it set up for my sizer and not be in my dads way on the good RCBS press. Also picked up a box of Speer 139 7mm bullets for my grandads 284 which I have taken possession of.

Anyways Lee sizers work good or what the reviews on Midway say they are pretty good for the money.

Dk17

Leftoverdj
05-25-2006, 10:38 PM
The Lee sizers are excellent. and the little $20 Lee press is as handy as a shirt pocket. I keep one around for light duty chores such as sizing and priming.

The TL moulds work well most of the time, but I get fat bullets maybe every 50 to 100 casts. My guess is that it is due to an unnoticed speck of debris. I can shuck them through the sizer at the rate of ten a minute or more, so I do so.

The Lee sizer is one of those products that even the Lee haters have to admit is good. It's way better than an in and out lubrisizer for long skinny rifle bullets, and I size those in the Lee and lube them in an oversized die in a lubrisizer.

6pt-sika
05-25-2006, 10:54 PM
I bought one of the Lee sizers for .311 from Midway about a month ago for $12. I had ordered some other stuff , so I figured for twelve bucks even if it didn't work out I wasn't out of much . I've not used it yet , but if it works well for me I plan on getting Lee to make me a .360 , .380, .432 and .460 . [smilie=1:

StarMetal
05-25-2006, 11:23 PM