PDA

View Full Version : I've been burning wood since 1999 and......

WILCO
12-27-2009, 09:49 AM
have found it a chore to build a starter fire with kindling wood. Have used a variety of tricks with paper, those starter sticks, WD40 and so on.
Recently cooked a pack of bacon and the idea came upon me to use the bacon grease on the kindling wood. I tried it and works like a charm. No fuss, no muss.
Even mixed in some chicken grease from the crockpot. Only takes a small amount smathered on a chunk or two and away it goes when lit. Just thought I'd share the discovery............:coffee:

hoosierlogger
12-27-2009, 10:01 AM
plus it probably smells good too.

WILCO
12-27-2009, 10:02 AM
plus it probably smells good too.

It does! :mrgreen:

44man
12-27-2009, 10:06 AM
NO THANKS----I would be chewing on the firewood! :bigsmyl2:

JSnover
12-27-2009, 10:57 AM
Must be tough to keep the dogs out of the kindling....

c3d4b2
12-27-2009, 11:05 AM
I have had some success using newspaper soaked with grease or cooking oil to start fires.

fishhawk
12-27-2009, 11:07 AM
just use a trioxane bar under the wood and it takes right off. steve k

imashooter2
12-27-2009, 11:11 AM
I have one of those ceramic eggs on a stick that you soak in kerosene. Best fire starter ever. When camping, I always bring a few fire starters made from old candle stubs melted and poured into paper egg cartons.

waksupi
12-27-2009, 11:12 AM
I buy a Presto log, and chunk it into small egg size pieces. Works great. One of the logs will last me pretty much all winter. They also sell smaller versions for fire lighting, but they cost a lot more, for the same stuff.

WILCO
12-27-2009, 11:16 AM
I buy.......

That's the thing, I'll never need to buy another fire starter again. :mrgreen:

Shepherd2
12-27-2009, 11:35 AM
We have an outdoor wood burning furnace. I light a fire with kindling and a trioxane bar in October and let in burn out in May.

dragonrider
12-27-2009, 11:39 AM