PDA

View Full Version : Just started...

Ben-WSU
12-22-2009, 09:34 PM
Hello Everyone:

I am new to casting, and just finished my first attempt.

My setup is as follows:

Lee 4-20 Melting Pot,
Lee ladle (for stirring, not pouring),
Lee ingot mold,
Lee 6-cavity mold in 38 cal-158gr-SWC-Tumble Lube,
Frankford Arsenal Flux,
Lee Alox

The lead I have is from Ebay and was described as originating from Wheel weights. I figured I would start there and scrounge later.

Casting went okay. The lead I put in the pot melted and I fluxed it successfully. I smoked the bullet cavities using a match. And lubed the mold sprue plate and alignment pins with lee 50/50 beeswax alox lube and set it on top of the pot to warm up.

Starting to cast went okay, but definitely not great. Two problems stopped me. :violin:

My biggest problem was the sprue plate funnel over the cavity would fill up before the cavity was full. This was sometimes my fault because I was getting used to the bottom pour flow rate. I was not really able to get consistent filling. Any suggestions?

Then, the front alignment pin on the mold started to stick. I tried to re-lube it but fix the issue. This might have started after I put the end of the mold in the molten lead to warm it up to try and fix the first problem. At this point the light was fading so I called it a day. I will examine it more closely when it finished cooling.

Hopefully the next time works better. Any suggestions would be welcome. Once I get the 38 cal mold to work, for a 38 special, then I want to try loading for a 40 S&W and a 30-06.

Great forum, lots of great info here.

-Ben

beagle
12-22-2009, 10:11 PM
Ben.....welcome to the site.