PDA

View Full Version : Advise me on lubes......

Carteach0
05-22-2006, 10:14 AM
Ok, I know this has probably been done to death 100 times over, but I'm a newbie with a lubersizer.

Just got a used Lyman 450 and downloaded the instructions. I have one
.429 die and one top punch that ALMOST fits the 240 grain Lee Keith style .429 bullet I use in my various .44's.

Now I need to learn about lubes that will work in this thing.....

I will start with the .429 because thats what I have. What I really wanted
this rig for was rifle bullets, and have cast up a few hundred .312 for
my Enfield while waiting for it. So..... also need advice on moderate velocity rifle lube.

I'd rather stay with bought sticks right now, for convenience. I see several
sellers on E-bay.... comments on their stuff?

Also.... I don't have a heater right now but will probably rig a heat lamp
for short term. Thoughts?

Please... no making fun of the new guy..... unless It's a really good.

Will
05-22-2006, 01:09 PM
I've got an old Lyman45 that I've used for many years and never had a heater. On cold days I just shine my work bench flood light an the base of it for a few minutes and go to work. Be careful of the stuff on e-bay some advertise as a brand name but it will be some home made stuff.
I perfer the NRA alox blend but everyone has their own ideas. The alox blend is soft and gets all over everything but I never get any leading.

Bucks Owin
05-22-2006, 03:13 PM
Ok, I know this has probably been done to death 100 times over, but I'm a newbie with a lubersizer.

Just got a used Lyman 450 and downloaded the instructions. I have one
.429 die and one top punch that ALMOST fits the 240 grain Lee Keith style .429 bullet I use in my various .44's.