PDA

View Full Version : Need advise on casting

acidviper
12-18-2009, 11:12 PM
I am very new to casting and i have made several bullets lately but they are all 10grains too heavy. What can i do to lighten up the mix?

44man
12-18-2009, 11:19 PM
I am very new to casting and i have made several bullets lately but they are all 10grains too heavy. What can i do to lighten up the mix?
As you get closer to pure lead, boolits will be the heaviest. As you add more tin and antimony, the lighter they get, to a point.
10 gr is well withing normal range of a lot of molds and I never worry about it. Just work loads for accuracy.

sagacious
12-18-2009, 11:20 PM
Your post is mighty thin on details and specifics, compadre. I'd reckon you'll get better-- and thus more useful-- info if you give us a little background on your situation and fill in some of the relevant details.

You'll get a lot of guesses and suggestions from folks who are trying to be helpful, but don't know the specifics of your application, but they'll all be just that, guesses.

A mold may not drop bullets equal to the weight specified by the manufacturer, and the exact weight may not matter in your application anyway.

chris in va
12-18-2009, 11:23 PM
Are you using wheelweights or pure lead?

454PB
12-18-2009, 11:24 PM
Welcome to the forum!

You have to be very lucky to buy a mould that casts the weight on the label. As you already apparently know, the alloy used controls both the weight, and to a certain degree, the diameter.

Depending on the design weight, 10 grains is not a big variation. If it was sold as a 300 gr. boolit, it can weigh anywhere from 280 to 320 grains. However, a .224 mould that was sold as a 55 grain boolit would be unacceptable at 65 grains.

In simple terms, adding antimony will both lighten weight and increase the boolit diameter.

captain-03
12-19-2009, 12:02 AM
Will the additional of tin to a straight WW melt increase the diameter of the dropped boolit?

lwknight
12-19-2009, 02:06 AM