PDA

View Full Version : Lyman mold question 230g RN for 45acp, bullets out of whack

sst04
12-15-2009, 12:50 AM
All may know, but I am new to this casting thing. So be easy.

I casted some 175g boolits for my XDM40s&w and shot about 150 of them today. After every mag I looked in the barrel to see if there was any build up, and there was. But it turns out to just be lube and unburned powder because it cleaned out with only a couple of passes with the soft brush that came with the XDM and Hopps cleaner. There is nothing in any of the grooves in the barrel that I can see even using a flashlight.

A couple of weeks ago I shot about 200 rounds of the 230g in my XD tac 45acp.
I cleaned it up a little then put it away.

So today I was working on some reloading and decided to measure a few of the 230g boolits. As cast they measure .449 at the line where the mold meets, turn it and it measures .452. After they are sized on a 452 die i measure 450 where the mold meets and 452 90 degrees from that.

Looking at the bullets I have already sized, I can see where part of them did not even touch the die. All of the 40cal bullets I have done measure exactly 401 and are shiney all the way around. I should have known something was wrong. The 45acp was the first I tried on my 4500 sizer and they were fairly easy to do. Well when It came time to do the 40cal, I had to add some extra braces to my little table.

After this I took the barrel out of my 45 and looked in it and from the chamber to about a inch and a half up the barrel was lead. I got it cleaned out but it took a little while.

What did I do wrong to make them smaller in this area? Every one I have measured is like this. After shooting the 40cal,, I know it should not leave this much lead in the grooves.

2ndAmendmentNut
12-15-2009, 01:03 AM
Do you use some sort of aerosol mould drop out? If you get a little carried away with spraying down the mould that could be a why your boolits are out of round.