PDA

View Full Version : How much to size, Lee .40

fatelk
12-14-2009, 02:31 AM
First post here. I've been casting for a couple decades, but would not consider my anywhere near an expert. Mostly I've used Lee molds, tumble lube with pretty good results, but I don't shoot high-volume.

I bought several new molds recently, one of which is a six-cavity .401 175gr TL. I just cast 100 bullets and I have a couple questions for the pros here.

These things measure about .404 to .405+ (not perfectly concentric, but this seems pretty normal). I generally don't size my bullets, but this seems a bit large.
I was hoping to not buy another sizer, but assume I should get one in something like .402?

I guess the other question has to do with another mold- Lee .365 95gr 2-cavity. The bullets come out weighing 105gr. instead. Is this a normal sort of thing?

I've never been real particular about the lead I use. It's a mixture of wheel weights, range lead, and for the .40's a little linotype mixed in.

One other about another mold: Lee .430 310gr. double cavity. I didn't realize that this was a gas check mold until it came. I don't do gas checks on pistol bullets. I assume it should be OK to shoot them without checks, but is there a good way to lube them? I have an old Lyman 45 lube-sizer and a .430 die, but needless to say it doesn't work very good for these since I'm too cheap to buy gas checks.

Please don't beat me up too bad about my dumb questions. :)
I've made a lot of "boolits" but definitely have not made a science of it like many here. I've already learned a lot from lurking and reading. Thanks in advance for any help.

lwknight
12-14-2009, 02:45 AM
You need to know your bore size. 405 is pretty big for a 40 cal. I would size them.
A Lee push through sizer is about $13.00 IIRC

A 95 grain mold casting 10 graind heavy is kinda wild in my book. 2 or 3 grains on a 158 grain mold is normal but you have a 10% deviation. Cannot guess.