PDA

View Full Version : Help diagnose a problem

chris in va
12-06-2009, 09:44 PM
Shot my first cast boolits today, 9mm 124gr TC tumble lube with 3.5gr (EDIT: 4.0gr) of 231. They all chambered/fired/ejected fine, but accuracy was all over the map out of both my HiPoint carbine and CZ 75BD. I can usually hit a 4x8 steel plate at 100 yards with the carbine and FMJ, but not with these. Same issue with the CZ at 25 yards on a swinger.

I've read about slugging the barrel, but have no idea how to do that with the carbine as there's no way to push anything through from the chamber end like on a rifle. Frankly I have no idea how to do it anyway. The tumble lube boolits claim no sizing is necessary, so I'm confused.

Leading was minimal after about 250 rounds in the carbine. I bought some copper scour pads as recommended and it removed what there was. Nothing really in the CZ.

Is the lead too hard? I've been water dropping them.

chemist308
12-06-2009, 09:56 PM
I'm a newb, but can you field strip your carbine? Then you should be able to slug it then. When I did my 9mm, I put the barrel in garage vise and I pushed a cast 38 lead bullet through it using a mallet to seat it into the muzzle, then a cleaning rod I wasn't partial to, with the mallet to get it the rest of the way through--note: do this with a lead bullet not a water dropped wheel weight.

When you load, are you watching your overall case length? I reloaded 9mm for the first time and found I really had to watch this one. Seat the rounds inconsistently and you would have to be messing with the pressures. Just a thought.

wallenba
12-06-2009, 10:27 PM