PDA

View Full Version : How much smoke you get firing non lube cast bullets?

Siggy226
11-26-2009, 10:47 PM
I fired 3 today to see what would happen. Boy was I shocked. Who ever posted something like this some where here, I'm experiencing the same thing. It's almost as smokey as lubed bullets.

What is this smoke I see? Is it all lead vapors? I'm using same powder (W231) for plated bullets and I don't see any smoke.

This is not good. I wonder how affective is the lube in keeping lead from melting off bullet!? I need to shoot them all outdoors. My indoor range has terrible ventilation right now. They said filters are getting clogged and nearing end of its life and should be changed within 1-2 weeks. Well, I wanted to say it should be changed right now! but I held back because I'm a noob member. We'll see how good it really is once they change the filters.

I think I got big time lead poisoned today. I fired 250rds of lubed cast bullets and lots of black snot b/c smoke stayed in my face. After emptying my mag, I purposely start picking up my brass to duck away from smoke. DOH!

I keep forgetting to mention caliber - it's 9mm for Sig P226

Bullet Lube is liquid Xlox with 2 coatings, very little lead fouling. 1 light coat was useless... major lead fouling and immediately understood what bad fouling looked like after 50rds. Going to try a batch with 3 coats and see what happens.

Fixxah
11-26-2009, 11:05 PM
That isn't good. I have yet to shoot any gun indoors, not because I am against it but because my club doesn't have one yet. I am using w231 under 230 truncated and it seems to smoke less that the red dot does. Shooting under a halogen light at night.

runfiverun
11-26-2009, 11:09 PM
try a different powder.
i used to use 231 to practice like i was using b/p.
you could also be seeing powder blow by, i've had unique smoke like b/p before too.

Ricochet
11-27-2009, 01:03 AM
Unique and its sister powders contain rosin, which makes a lot of smoke and soot.

lwknight