PDA

View Full Version : Minimum cost to start casting?

jason280
11-06-2009, 12:47 AM
I have hinted around at the idea of casting my own lead, but never really committed. Well, now that I have so many guns that I shoot lead in, it only makes sense. I shoot cast in .38/.357, .41, .44, .45 Colt and ACP, as well as .35, .375, and .45-70.

What is minimum cost I can expect for a complete setup to cast for these calibers, assuming 2-4 cavity molds, sizers, heaters, pots, etc?

sisiphunter
11-06-2009, 01:47 AM
Well, I am very new to casting and my set up includes a small electric Lee pot ($40), Lee dies ($27/ 2 cavity set), a ladle ($10), Lee Liquid Alox lube ($6), notebook ($1). Luckily my boolits drop to a perfect size for my rifle and I do not need to size at this point. I know this is a barebones set-up, but hey it works great for me so far (very good accuracy and minimal to no leading). For lead I am blessed to have the range scrape (mostly 12 ga slug lead) and got some free Wheel weights.

I'm sure others will add to the post with their set-up and you can get alot more expensive (and probably better or easier/quicker to use) equipment, but I am extremely happy with mine the way it is for now.

Good luck.

Matt

JIMinPHX
11-06-2009, 01:55 AM
Minimum for all those calibers...
$20 per mold x 6 molds = $120
Stick of lube $3
Old pot & spoon from garage sale $5
Wheel Weights picked up from side of highway - Free

I'd say that about $130 would be the dead minimum if you shoot the boolits at raw diameter. If you need to size them, then add about $15 per size. Tack on another hundred & change if you want the convenience of using a lubrisizer rather than a Lee push through sizer. Either way, you need to buy a different die for each size.