PDA

View Full Version : what's wrong here

Phat Man Mike
10-31-2009, 08:43 PM
[smilie=b:[smilie=b:noob on this forum but having trouble! I'm casting .365 bullets for my MAK and the first round went like poop! the bullet's are dropping with seams on them ..I'm using W/W for my casting. and the molds are new ..any help ?[smilie=b:[smilie=b:

rwt101
10-31-2009, 08:53 PM
Did you go over the mold and check it for any metal left from manufacturing? Did you follow the directions about preparing the mold? It has to be cleaned and the sprue plate hinge lubed. Just a few thoughts. I am new to casting so I am no expert. Here is a pic of some .365 cast boolits from a new lee mold.

Phat Man Mike
10-31-2009, 09:04 PM
man you just made me sick! those are nice! and yes I did the normal stuff of cleaning and prepping my molds! it just made me sick so I quit for the day.. they all had seams around the bullets. I was thinking I was pouring to fast. but I'm at a loss for words.[smilie=b:[smilie=b:

Ken O
10-31-2009, 09:08 PM
If your mold isn't up to temp (by other means than pouring lead in them) it will take quite a few pours to bring it up.

Did you clean the mold real well using carb cleaner or some good oil solvent?

If the above has been done, than more heat! Take the temp up until the bullits frost, then back it down just under. The wrinkles should go away.

mooman76
10-31-2009, 09:10 PM
A little better discription or even pictures would help allot. All I know is you have seams. You will have small seams no matter what but more info is need for us to help.

rwt101
10-31-2009, 09:11 PM
If there were seams around them the die was not closing all the way. Either there is something in the alignment pins or maybe you were not sqeezing them hard enough. Also mold temperature and lead temperature. I find I have to have mine pretty hot to get it to flow right. The only other thing that I can think of is the lead content. I am also using wheel weights.
Bob T

stubshaft