PDA

View Full Version : .45 cast

blazin.45acp
10-30-2009, 07:18 PM
Let me start by saying, I'm new at reloading.

I want to shoot more and want to try cast bullets in my 1911. Just how terrible is the leading out of a .45 barrel? 1000 bullets made of lead is a whole lot less expensive than the jacketed, which means I could spend a lot more time shooting. I almost always clean my guns a few hours after I shoot, is there a said amount of lead that I should shoot, stop and clean and then resume shooting?

I'm looking to try 200gr swc for my first reloads. Is this a good choice for a starter? (For now, this is just for practice and then eventually will be used for IDPA.)

Thanks for any/all help.

Blazin.45acp

stubshaft
10-30-2009, 07:34 PM
If you clean ALL of the copper fouling out of your bore.
If you shoot boolits that Fit the bore and have decent loob.
If your barrel is free of machining marks and smooth.
If the boolits are cast hard enough.

THEN - You should never have to clean it ever!

Ricochet
10-30-2009, 07:47 PM
Even if only the second of the four conditions above is met, you won't likely have trouble.

RobS
10-30-2009, 08:07 PM
There are few worries as long as you have good bullet fit with a decently lubed bullet. I have never shot any copper through my 45 ACP and very few through any of my other guns (rifles included). 200 SWC is a standard for what you are looking at doing.

You may even consider casting one day too.[smilie=w:

Cherokee
10-30-2009, 08:11 PM
Tell you what I do for my several 45 ACP's.
Cast the bullets from wheel weights + some tin
Size them to .452 (most barrels are .451)
Use Lars 45 carmuba lube or thompsons carnuba lube
Shoot target or ball equivelant loads (no hot rodding)
When I clean my guns, I may have a few flecks of lead.
If you do have leading, try sizing bullets to 453 if they will chamber in your gun.

bohokii
10-30-2009, 08:25 PM