PDA

View Full Version : Question from a complete newbe

TXBRILL
10-27-2009, 12:56 PM
I have never cast a boolit in my life although shot many. I just started shooting muzzle loaders and would like to try to cast some 50 and 36 cal balls. What type of mold should I start with. Are the old fashioned ones easier or go with a Lee or Lyman type. I plan to just use a ladel and small stove

Thanks

10-27-2009, 01:18 PM
TXBRILL,
The cheapest by far is the LEE route. The nice thing about roundballs is that they tend to be the easiest of all types to cast. Nothing wrong with the small pot, a suitable gas burner and a ladle. A Lee mold with the small pot and ladle will for sure let you "test the waters" in casting without spending a ton of dough. You may find the Lee ladle to be a little iffy for most casting operations but probably OK for the roundballs. Since there is some choice on ball diameters you may want to try some different diameters and with different patching materials in your guns before settling on the best load or investing in the molds.

You asked about the "old style" mold. I assume you're referring to the one piece, cast "nutcracker" style? If so they work fine. May need some ground down side cutters or nippers to clip the sprue off after casting but it's an easy, straight forward task... no problem. Even a sharp knife will work... with some care not to cut your finger :)

Leftoverdj
10-27-2009, 02:10 PM
Go with Lee moulds. They are cheap, they work well, and they don't burn your hands as the old nutcrackers do. Skip the ladle. It's piece of **** and should not be encouraged. Get a Lyman or RCBS ladle or make do with a suitable junk spoon. Use any small steel pot. No aluminum, and the little Lee pot to be heated from outside is another piece of ****. Leave some lead in the pot you use so it does not get used for food.

HORNET
10-27-2009, 03:21 PM