PDA

View Full Version : Keeping Notes?

SciFiJim
10-27-2009, 12:57 AM
I've only been reloading for about nine months now. I have seen some that say they keep lots of notes on everything, (alloy, reloading data, lube types and recipes). So far I have only worked up a load for my 1911 .45. Having only one to remember is easy. Now that I am starting to work up a load for my rifle, I see the wisdom in keeping good notes.

I have never been a good note taker. Can anyone give me hints and suggestions on how to keep good notes on casting and reloading and what things to record?

geargnasher
10-27-2009, 01:14 AM
I have a master reloading book that is tabbed for keeper load/gun combos that are proven to work, and has my general powder/primer/lube/alloy data and cut-out articles also.

I also keep a "log" of every gun I own, a cheapo spiral notebook for most (easier to deal with cause you can fold them back, unlike composition books or ring binders) and this chronicles all activity and information for that gun. I don't document cleanings, but I probably should. These logs contain a few targets taped in (if they document something meaningful or interesting), pictures, Chono printouts, load workups and range reports, et cetera. Reads more like a journal than anything, sometimes I have to dig a while to find data, but it's there if I need it.

At least get a multi-subject 3-ring binder and keep a tab (literally) on each gun you own, that way one day you won't be saying to yourself, "was that 5.5 grains under a 255 lswc in a .45acp or 4.0 grains under a 230 tc in a .45 Colt?"

Gear

stubshaft
10-27-2009, 01:30 AM