PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a bullet calculator

peter nap
10-26-2009, 07:24 AM
I know they exist, but haven't found a calculator to determine the length of a bullet that will stabilize in a certain twist. I always use the..."That' about right" method.:(

I'm trying to deign a .733 bullet that will stabilize in a 1:35 barrel. I want the longest possible with a very wide meplat (almost wadcutter) and turned out of solid brass.\
Velocity will be around 1450 fps.

thx997303
10-26-2009, 07:29 AM
Looks like 2.3" will be your magic boolit length for the 1:35 twist barrel according to the twist calculator contained in Wiljen's Reloader's Reference.

Wayne Smith
10-26-2009, 07:30 AM
For future reference go to the Mountian Molds site, design your boolit and it will tell you the twist that it fits best. Nice feature.

peter nap
10-26-2009, 07:41 AM
Thanks Guys!

thx997303
10-26-2009, 07:49 AM
Though I am not an expert on this, It would seem you may want the option of having a little range in your boolit and twist rate.

What I mean is, things vary, and the 1:35 will most likely stabilize that 2.3" boolit (the calculator says so) but it seems to me, that having the boolit slightly shorter may give you a margin of error.

For example, a 2.2" boolit will stabilize with a 1:36 twist. I would imagine this boolit would give you the margin of error I am talking about.

Though, as I said, I am not an expert. Perhaps someone else may chime in on this?

peter nap
10-26-2009, 07:59 AM
Though I am not an expert on this, It would seem you may want the option of having a little range in your boolit and twist rate.

What I mean is, things vary, and the 1:35 will most likely stabilize that 2.3" boolit (the calculator says so) but it seems to me, that having the boolit slightly shorter may give you a margin of error.

For example, a 2.2" boolit will stabilize with a 1:36 twist. I would imagine this boolit would give you the margin of error I am talking about.