PDA

View Full Version : NO-DAMAGE SEATING Of Cast Boolits

BruceB
04-29-2006, 10:47 PM
A young friend called up today, all worried because he was shaving his new cast bullets when seating them. The cartridge in question is the .30-30. I advised him as to what I would do, and sent him forth to do battle yet again with the forces of darkness.

After giving the matter some thought, I got to wondering how many others are suffering the same difficulties. Therefore, I'm striking off on this tangent.

A lot of my gear is rather old, and precedes some of todays concepts by DECADES. I have RCBS dies dated 1967, which I personally bought in that same time period. This means NO "M" dies, or sliding sleeves in dies to guide bullets, or any of that. I've never seen instructions for the way I've been seating cast bullets for all these many years, either.

Take the 7.62 NATO stuff I was loading today. I sized them in an RCBS small-base sizer (I have an X-die now, but haven't used it yet). Rotating the turret one click brought up the M1 Carbine expander die, which is set to deliver a definite flare or bell on the casemouth. Then to the powder measure, and then on to the real reason for this thread, the seater die...an absolutely normal, garden-variety RCBS seater.

When I load JACKETED bullets with such seaters, I set the die body as low as it will go without crimping cases, and then adjust seating depth with the seating stem. In this manner I get the maximum guidance for the bullet by the die walls as it travels up into the die before seating takes place. If this die setting is used for CAST boolits, that flare or bell is removed from the case mouth as soon as it enters the neck portion of the die, and....in many cases, the bullet is damaged by the case mouth after it's been straightened-out by the die's neck diameter.