PDA

View Full Version : New WW, Lead or Zinc

vulture47
10-13-2009, 04:05 PM
A local tire shop had about 500lbs of wheel weights he got in for large truck tires, but told me he couldn't use them because they were the wrong kind and I could have what I wanted, so I hauled several boxes home, "big boxes." I cast some 30 cal. boolets for my .308 and when I went to size and lube them I couldn't pound them into the sizer die. These are the hardest stinking slugs I've ever seen, well cast slugs anyway. Is it possable that what I have are WW made from a very high concentration of zink? If so then I can cast and shoot them as cast but I'll never get them to size. Mold was .309, size die was .308. Oh yeah, I'm new to this site, great info. I've been casting my own for years, kind of let it go for a few years there but now I've got to get back into it to make rounds up for my .577 Snider, and .577-450 Martini.

jdgabbard
10-13-2009, 04:09 PM
Hrm. I've not heard of any like that. However, it is not completely impossible for a company to change their alloy. Can you upload pics of the WWs?

sagacious
10-13-2009, 04:44 PM
A local tire shop had about 500lbs of wheel weights he got in for large truck tires, but told me he couldn't use them because they were the wrong kind and I could have what I wanted...
These are the hardest stinking slugs I've ever seen, well cast slugs anyway. Is it possable that what I have are WW made from a very high concentration of zink?
No, if they're like the ones I've been using, they're definitely not zinc. It's just hard lead.

I have also noticed that the large truck ww's are harder than the standard auto ww's. I suspect that they contain more antimony and/or arsenic to additionally strengthen them because of their larger mass and the increased stresses placed upon them by trucks driving on unpaved roads or worksite access roads, etc.

Cast away, and enjoy your good fortune! Or cut them with some soft lead if you need a less-hard bullet.