PDA

View Full Version : accuracy for only 10 or 12 rounds

jeff223
04-23-2006, 12:07 PM
for the first 10 or 12 rounds i am getting very good accuracy with my 357max Contender with the Lee 180 grainers with a gas check but once those rounds are shot the accuracy goes out the window.i think i am getting some leading in the throat area after this amount of shots but im not sure?just the other day i shot my best group ever at 100yds with a pistol but i only shot 10 rounds total through it.when i got home i cleaned the bore but i didnt check the patch for signs of lead.i shot yesterday at the range and for the first 10 or 12 it shot fine.i even shot some out at the 200yd target and i got about a 3.5inch group with three rounds.all of a sudden it stopped shooting good???

your thoughts about this please.maybe my boolits are top soft?

im thinking if i can get the right combo of lead hardness and good lube i should be able to shoot many rounds in a row with accuracy?im just new to cast shooting so i will neeed some ideas and advice

thanks,
jeff

Larry Gibson
04-23-2006, 12:38 PM
So ok, what is the lube, the alloy and the load?

Larry Gibson

44man
04-23-2006, 02:53 PM
It could be the TC barrel itself. The ones I had were so rough they picked up copper so bad it took a week to clean it out. Cast boolits would lead the bore something fierce. I sent the guns back, they replaced the barrels and the new ones were worse. I now don't own one!
If I were you, I would power lap the barrel.
I can tell you horror stories about their muzzle loader barrels.

Bucks Owin
04-23-2006, 03:18 PM
Yep, sure sounds like leading to me. Here's a story of my battle with that malady...