PDA

View Full Version : Just starting to cast

bz4736
10-06-2009, 11:56 AM
I'm just starting out in reloading and casting what all do I need for casting boolits?
I've got an old Lee pot and lead. I've casted fishing weights when i was younger, but now id like to cast boolits. Ill be casting for 38spl and 44spl/mag. Your advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

snaggdit
10-06-2009, 12:02 PM
First of all, welcome! I suppose you have ordered molds? Are you looking to start low budget or do you want to get set up well? Suggestions will change based on budget.

bz4736
10-06-2009, 12:04 PM
I'm looking to start out with just the basics "low budget"

snaggdit
10-06-2009, 12:18 PM
OK, well you got the pot and lead.
If the lead isn't already in ingots, you will need a steel or cast iron pot to "smelt" it into ingots. Don't use your casting pot to smelt in! Flux with wax or sawdust and stir with a wood stick then skim off crud and pour into ingots. A steel muffin pan will work for an ingot mold (let it rust and the ingots will come out easier). You will also need a steel ladle to pour the ingots. Make sure the ladle has rivets or is a one piece, no solder joint connecting handle to bowl. The thrift stores are your friend. So are rummage sales.
For casting, I highly recommend some Bullplate sprue lube (the Bullshop link at the bottom of the page). Get a few wooden paint stirring sticks to stir your pot. Some use kitty litter or sawdust on top of the pot to help keep in the heat. I use charcoal myself. The sawdust or charcoal helps flux, too.
Some use a hotplate to get the mold up to temp for casting. Wally World has them for under $15, but you can also just set the mold across the pot while it is heating up the lead. That's the basics. If I forgot anything others will chime in.

carpetman
10-06-2009, 12:19 PM
Get a Lyman manual--you'll need load data and it has good info about casting as well.

mdi
10-06-2009, 12:25 PM
http://www.lasc.us/ArticlesFryxell.htm