PDA

View Full Version : Mihec's new H&G #503 (.44 Keith Style)

crabo
10-05-2009, 11:06 PM
I got to shoot a few of the loads that I had loaded. I tried 9, 9.5, 10, 10.5 grains of Unique. The 10.5 showed promise. (the lower target is 10 of Unique) 17.5 of 2400 also showed promise. I am just getting started, but I feel like this is a better shooter in my gun, than the RCBS 250K. (plus it is a 6 cavity) It seems like this boolit does better with some speed. Of course I have just scratched the surface and barely started load developement. This is at 50 yards.

I'm shooting a PC 629 with an Ultradot and 7 1/2" barrel. I am happy with this mold.

practical_man
10-06-2009, 11:33 AM
Thanks Crabo. Your review is making it VERY hard for me to wait for my mold.

Please update this thread as your tests progress.

-john

Wayne S
10-07-2009, 08:09 PM
What is the "as Cast" Dia. of your RCBS 250 KT, and what did you size it and the 503 bullet to ?

crabo
10-08-2009, 01:22 AM
I cast up a 2 pound coffee can of these tonight and sized them. I am ready to do some more testing after they sit a few days, I water dropped them.

Wayne, here is what I wrote previously about the mold. I size to .431

I cast some boolits tonight from pure WWs. I degreased the mold with brake cleaner and set it on my Walmart hot plate for about an hour and 15 minutes. No other mold prep was done. I had previously broken the edge of the sprueplate with a file. I cast about 125 boolits and then let the mold cool until it was cool to touch. I threw all the boolits back in the pot.