PDA

View Full Version : Help, can't find the target...

konaaahbend
09-22-2009, 01:48 AM
So I'm new to casting and reloading, thought I'd jump in with both feet. I'm shooting a Marlin .45-70, remington primer, Hodgdon 4895 at 53 grains and a lee 340 grain flat nose, no gas check. At 100 yds, five out of 20 plus shots hit the paper, at 50 yards about the same. When I normally shoot at 100 yds with factory ammo, it's a 2 inch group. What am I doing wrong and how/where do I backtrack to find the problem ? Do I try a similar powder load with a similar weight factory slug ? Help, deer is only two weeks away and I really wanted to use my own ammo ! Thanks, Gordon:violin:

runfiverun
09-22-2009, 01:53 AM
slow down the load try for about 1300 fps.
make sure the boolit is oversized for the marlin.
you wanna go much oer the 13-14 range you need a gas check or p/p.
1300 and a 340 gr boolit is enough for 3 deer.

Echo
09-22-2009, 02:30 AM
Bore size is ? Groove size is ? Boolit diameter is ? I believe you are overpowering the boolit, and may also be shooting a too-small boolit. We need more info.

badgeredd
09-22-2009, 09:27 AM
+1 on the above comments, plus since you are trying a new load, move your target range to 25 yards. That will show you a lot and your boolits should all hit paper. Also it sounds like you started fairly high with the velocity. After reading a lot of posts, you'll notice a trend of starting low a working up. If you can get the above details worked out, then work on a good group at 25 yds. Once there with your loads, start moving back from the target. Usually if you're an inch to 1 1/2 inches high at 25 yards, you'll be within a couple inches at 100 yards, high or low, depending on velocity.

Welcome to the casting/reloading fraternity.

Edd

largom
09-22-2009, 09:48 AM
Gordon, Welcome to casting and reloading. I've got 6 different 45-70's and they all shoot cast VERY well. Really need a lot more info. to help you.