i have a lyman 4 banger 358495
what powder would be a good one to try first
what i have to work with is
red dot
clays
700x
unique
universal
im guessing 700-800 fps would be in the ball park?
this is my first try with wadcutters
alloy will be 50/50 ww pb
or maybe just pure lead
thanks again guys
waco:drinks:

Thumbcocker
09-20-2009, 08:25 AM
231 has been good for me. I have shot this boolit at 1000 fps with good results on varmits and targets.

Dale53
09-20-2009, 10:21 AM
waco;
Red Dot will work fine for target loads as will 231.

Lyman shows:
Red Dot 2.8grs 706 fps - 4.2grs 961 fps
231 3.0 grs 667 fps - 4.9 1001 fps

I would suggest you will find the "sweet spot" using Red Dot to be 3.0-3.5 grs

231's sweet spot will probably lie between 3.4 - 3.8 grs.

Generally speaking, solid base wadcutters work better with a little more powder than the Hollow Base wadcutters. Further, you will not be limited by bullet design to minimum charges (the only limit is pressure like any other solid base bullet). Using a good lube, you will generally find better accuracy with lubing only one groove.

Dale53

Matt_G
09-20-2009, 10:29 AM
Waco, any of those powders would work fine I am sure.
I just started using this boolit myself and tried loads with Bullseye and 231.
Both loads were nice and easy on the wife and accurate to boot.
I loaded them both to the bottom end of the range and she really liked the lack of recoil. So did I.
My alloy was WW's + 2% Sn.

If you need load data for any of those powders let me know and I will post the loads out of my Loadbooks USA. The only powder on your list that isn't in here is Universal Clays.

BTW, if for some reason you decide you don't like that boolit, keep me in mind. I would love to buy it from you. :)
All I have is a 2-cav.

fecmech
09-20-2009, 10:33 AM